

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

June 12, 2023, 12:00 P.M. 5400 N Grand Blvd., Ste 135 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Dr. Joanna Lein, John Daniel, Dr. Katherine Curry, Ken Parker, Kathryn Szallar, Greg Hallman, Geoff Kingsley
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	None
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt, and Ashley Poole
VISITORS:	Dr. Ashlyn Fiegener, OSU-OKC, Dr. Bob Sommers, MindPlay, Dr. Ed. Harris, Kahn Academy

Call to Order: Dr. Katherine Curry called the meeting to order at 12:03 p.m.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Dr. Curry asked for the roll call to be taken. Seven Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed. Dr. Curry then asked the commissioners and OEQA staff to introduce themselves for our new members.

Introduction of Dr. Bob Sommers: Dr Curry introduced Dr. Sommers, Chief Academic Officer and Head of Strategy for MindPlay, to the commissioners.

Discussion: Affirming Current Core Mission/Responsibilities of OEQA: Dr. Sommers spoke to the Commission about the core mission of the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability.

Presentation: Transformational Proposal: Dr. Sommers presented a transformational proposal for OEQA, focusing on innovation and data collection, usage, and presentation to stakeholders.

Discussion: Thought Exchange: Dr. Sommers led a discussion of the thoughts and questions about his presentation.

Discussion: Next Steps: The Commission and Dr. Sommers discussed next steps in the data transformation process. Dr. Curry said that the committee would discuss this further.

Presentation: Innovation Example by Khan Academy: Dr. Ed Harris (in person) and Salman Khan (via Zoom) presented Khan Academy's AI tutoring/teaching assistant platform, Khanmigo. They demonstrated the benefits of the program, its language and learning capabilities, and its anti-cheating protocols.

The meeting adjourned at 4:12 p.m. The minutes of the June 12, 2023 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on June 21, 2023.

Signed:

Dr. Katherine Curry Secretary of Education Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Interim Executive Director